Unemployment benefits are payable for every remaining day of unemployment on your first claim. For instance, if you claim fourteen days in the first claim, you will receive benefit for seven days. If you qualify and your claims are continuous from one unemployment benefit year to another, you will serve only one waiting period in your continuing unemployment.

A period of continuing unemployment for which you file your claims where each claim has five or more valid unemployment days and each claims start within fifteen days after the first claim ends. If you have five, six or seven unemployment days in a fourteen day period, you have to file a claim for benefits to satisfy the waiting period required.

Normally, unemployment benefits last for 130 days or 26 weeks in a benefit year but not more than your base year wages. Your rights for unemployment benefits are exhausted when the benefit year ends, usually on June 30 or earlier if the benefit payments equal to the base year creditable earnings. If you have ten or more service years and have exhausted your normal unemployment benefits, you could be eligible to receive extended benefits up to 65 days. Moreover, if you are not qualified to receive benefits in the present year but received normal benefits on the previous year, you could still be eligible for unemployment benefits extension.

Share and Enjoy:
  • Print
  • Digg
  • Sphinn
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Mixx
  • Google Bookmarks
  • Blogplay

Comment now!